Everyone knows that when the temperature drops, it is officially cuddle szn. Speaking for myself, as soon as it hits 15 degrees I go on a sweater-buying-spree and plan as many fireside dates as possible. But there are definitely nights when I can't get to my designated cuddle buddy and need something else to curl up to. Mainly, 1. a fleece blanket and 2. a hot tea and 3. a good book. 

With all of the screen time our eyes get these days, a good old fashioned book can actually be just want the doctor ordered. Reading a regular book for 6 minutes a day actually alleviates a noticeable amount of stress while getting your mind ready for bed. Whatever you're into, be it thrillers, love stories or wild fantasies, we have just the read for you. 

Thrilling Reads

Romantic Reads

Fun Reads

Empowering Reads

For thrillers, click next! 


Thrillers

1. Fragments of the Lost by Megan Miranda 

Perfect for fans of Pretty Little Liars or 13 Reasons Why, this read is all about a suspenseful psychological mystery about one girl's search to uncover the truth behind her ex-boyfriend's death. When she begins to piece together his things, clues begin to reveal themselves and make her question their entire relationship. 


2. The Secrets You Keep by Kate White

Former Cosmopolitan Editor-in-Chief Kate White tells an insane story of about a successful self-help author who suddenly finds her life spiraling dangerously out of control. This psychological thriller follows our protagonist, Bryn Harper, as she copes with the aftermath of horrendous car crash. As a string of murders unfold in front of her eyes, Bryn grows further terrified and starts to suspect everyone around her as a possible culprit - including her husband. 


3. Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng 

Little Fires Everywhere delves into a tale of a Cleveland woman named Elena who opens her home to a single mother and her daughter with mysterious backstory. The single mother quickly disrupts the quiet nature of the Ohio neighbourhood - especially when Elena tries to adopt a baby of her own. What is this woman hiding? 

For romantic reads, click next! 


Romantic Reads 

1. I Don't Think of You (Until I Do) by Tatiana Ryckman 

This novella details the all too real and relatable struggles of a long distance relationship from summer to summer, while the protagonist hides the name and gender of her romantic interest. 


2. The Sun and Her Flowers by Rupi Kaur 

This Brampton, Ontario native took the world by storm with her first book, milk and honey. After gracing The New York Times best-seller list for multiple consecutive weeks, celebrity Instagrams and even transitioning into a notable meme, Kaur is back with her second collection of poetry. Divided into five chapters and illustrated by Kaur, the sun and her flowers is a journey of wilting, falling, rooting, rising, and blooming. A celebration of love in all its forms.


3. i'm in like with you: a collection of almost-love stories by Paige McPhee 

(#shamelessplug) I'm in like with you is a a collection stories about millennial 'almost' love. Full of true tales of first love, ghosting, drunk 'did that happens?' and sober sour moments - i'm in like with you is all about the words that stir in our minds and never slide down our tongues. The thin line between friends and more-than-friends. A book about closeness and a book about space - between fingers, legs, lips and hips.

For Fun Reads, click next! 


Fun Reads
 
 1. Secrets for the Mad: Obsessions, Confessions and Life Lessons by Dodie Clark 

This book comes to us from a beloved British blogger by the name of doddleoddle. A collection of personal stories, lessons, song lyrics, and photos  makes for a delightfully charming read, especially for those "people with minds that just don't stop; for those who feel everything seemingly a thousand times more than the people around them."


2. The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck: A Counterintuitive Approach to Living a Good Life by Mark Manson 

This is a book everyone truly needs in their life. With over a million copies sold, Mark Manson knows what the fuck he's talking about with grab-you-by-the-shoulders-and-look-you-in-the-eye moments of real-talk, filled with entertaining stories and profane, ruthless humour.


3. Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling 

Mindy Kaling is everyone's best friend so of course I had to include her in this list. Kaling uses an engaging, conversational tone that literally makes you feel like you could call her up tomorrow and chat about The Office, her wonderfully quirky time in university or on-again off-again boyfriend, B.J. Novak. 

For Empowering Reads, click next!


Empowering Reads

1. What Happened by Hillary Rodham Clinton 

For the first time, one of the most empowering women in the country delves what it was like to run against Donald Trump. What Happened details campaign decisions, media portrayals and the former-Senator's intimate thoughts.  She speaks about the challenges of being a strong woman in the public eye, the criticism over her voice, age, and appearance, and the double standard confronting women in politics.


2. Bad Feminist by Roxanne Gay 

This popular collection of essays covers everything from Girls to Chris Brown by looking through a political, criticical, and feminist lens. 


3. The Rules Do Not Apply by Cheryl Strayed 

Based off an incredible essay in The New York Times, The Rules Do Not Apply chronicles the collapse of a woman's life before her very eyes. Her story of resilience becomes an unforgettable portrait of the shifting forces in our culture, of what has changed—and of what is eternal.

Start the Conversation
Account Settings
Notifications
Favourites
Log Out