With new guidance from government officials, regulations for face coverings are changing across the state. COVID-19 in California has led to increased restrictions on social distancing measures and precautions. You could be fined $1,000 for leaving the house without a face mask in several cities. So, prepare to buy one or make one at home.
The County of Riverside, which includes 28 cities, issued a mandatory update that requires local residents to wear face coverings when leaving their homes.
The order went into effect on midnight April 5. County Sheriff Chad Bianco announced that those found in violation can face fines up to $1,000 and jail time.
ABC10 News reports that residents in San Bernardino County may also face a $1,000 fine if they are not wearing a face covering in public. Residents in Beverly Hills, Carson, and Sacramento* are also required to cover their faces.
Some officials have taken a broader approach to the situation.
Los Angeles Mayor Eric Garcetti gave a formal announcement on April 14 that allows businesses to deny entry to people who are not wearing protective coverings.
Stay in your place; maintain your space and cover your face. Be safe everyone. #rivconow #wearerivco… https://t.co/JRqy5YE5cs— Lisa Brandl (@Lisa Brandl)1586894557.0
Since face masks are hard to find today, the CDC released an easy instructional article on how to wear a cloth face covering. This includes details on how to make a homemade one.
According to the CDC, cloth face coverings should meet the following requirements:
"fit snugly but comfortably against the side of the face
"be secured with ties or ear loops
"include multiple layers of fabric
"allow for breathing without restriction
"be able to be laundered and machine dried without damage or change to shape"
Each of us is a first responder in this crisis. That’s why we took action to protect workers and customers at many… https://t.co/GIFwnuAG7Z— MayorOfLA (@MayorOfLA)1586906471.0
The California Department of Public Health has a page providing frequent updates on COVID-19 across the state. The most recent data on the department's site is from April 13, 2020. There were 23,338 cases reported and 758 fatalities.
The department also provides information for locals on disease prevention, safety measures, and tips for symptom identification.
* This article has been updated.