Dallas County has now joined the bandwagon of Texas cities that have made it mandatory for all Dallas residents to wear face coverings in public. The rule will go in place this weekend and continue on until the end of the Shelter in Place order. The county has shared plenty of ways to make sure you are practicing safe habits when you must leave the home, and failure to follow the rules may lead to a hefty punishment.\nThe Shelter in Place order is now updated to include that all Dallas county residents must wear a facial covering of a sort when leaving their home.\nIf you violate the new rule, which will be active as of midnight on Saturday, April 18, it could leave you with a fine of up to $1,000 and even possible jail time.\nThe amendment states that "all persons over the age of two shall wear some form of covering over their nose and mouth, such as a homemade mask, scarf, bandanna or handkerchief when patronizing an Essential Business or using public transportation."\nSo if you haven't gotten a hold on a protective mask yet, you might want to start crafting a DIY one.\nTo better protect you and our frontline heroes, we are requiring all visitors to essential businesses, essential business employees and riders of public transportation to wear a cloth covering starting Saturday.— Clay Jenkins (@JudgeClayJ) April 16, 2020\nThe amendment shares with the public that "the covering of a person’s nose and mouth is necessary to help slow the spread of the virus."\nThe punishment for not abiding with the new Shelter in Place order will be on the same terms with other Texas areas requiring face masks, including Austin and Laredo.\nWhat you need to know about the new facial covering order in Dallas County | https://t.co/NsqtWAnE4G https://t.co/x8AF3fES6r— Clay Jenkins (@JudgeClayJ) April 17, 2020\nThey have already given residents a warning about their $1000 fines to make sure people follow the new rule.\nAccording to the Dallas City Hall website, 4044 warnings and 12 citations have already been issued to citizens and businesses who have failed to follow the order.\nAs of 1 p.m. on April 16, 2020, there have been 2,066 positive cases of COVID-19 and 50 deaths in Dallas County.\nThe new amendment will go into effect at 11:59 p.m. on April 17, 2020.