An Asteroid The Size Of A Football Field Will Fly Past Earth Today, And Here's When - Narcity

An Asteroid The Size Of A Football Field Will Fly Past Earth Today, And Here's When

Space is cool.

If you're a lover of space or just cool Instagrammable things, you're going to want to make sure to check out the 2010 WC9 asteroid hurling past earth today. 

Around the size of a football field and moving at the speed of 28,655 miles per hour - it's definitely something you won't want to miss. 

This will be the closest this asteroid has come to our planet in 300 years — though it is still considered a safe passing distance.  And despite the large size of the space rock, you still won't be able to see it with the naked eye. 

So if you do have your very own telescope, today would be a good time to dust it off and get yourself in place to view the 2010 WC9.

For anyone without a telescope or who just wants a quick glimpse of the asteroid, there is a live-stream happening on the Northolt Branch Observatories Facebook page right now. 

@zeus_astronomyembedded via  

For those wondering when to tune into the live stream or planning to set up a telescope themselves - here are the times all across Canada the asteroid will be passing through the sky. 

Halifax: 

@celunatravelphotographyembedded via  

You will be able to see the asteroid passing by earth at 7:05 PM ADT.

Toronto: 

@honorablebeastembedded via  

You will be able to see the asteroid passing by earth at 6:05 PM EST.

Calgary: 

@zoonmediaembedded via  

You will be able to see the asteroid passing by earth at 4:05 PM MDT.

Vancouver: 

@88theglobetrotterembedded via  

You will be able to see the asteroid passing by earth at 3:05 PM PDT.


Source: Time 

Share on Facebook

Keep on reading

Recommended for you

Brittany Rogers Cheap wine lover and patio enthusiast. Lover of words and emojis . I never met a farmers market I didn't like. Let's get social on the media @brittsrogers