Calling all space enthusiasts! You can see an asteroid in April 2020 right here in Canada as it passes by the Earth. This unique event is nothing to worry about, though. The space rock won't come close enough to make contact.

Asteroid (52768) 1998 OR2 is the biggest one that will soar past Earth this year and you can actually see it in the sky when it makes its approach.

On April 29, the space object will be at its closest in the early hours of the morning. This will be at 2:56 a.m. PT; 3:56 a.m. MT and CST; 4:56 a.m. CDT; 5:56 a.m. ET; 6:56 a.m. AT; 7:26 NT.

You won't be able to see this space rock with the naked eye, but there are other ways to watch this flyby.

If you have a telescope with at least a six-inch or eight-inch primary mirror, you'll be able to see it, as it looks like a slow-moving star.

This space rock will be in view for a period of about 10 to 15 minutes, according to EarthSky.

If you don't have any way to go outside and see it yourself, you can also watch a live stream from the Virtual Telescope Project.

With the live video, you'll be able to see the celestial show if you don't have a telescope, or if you do but pesky clouds get in the way.

While the asteroid won't hit Earth or have any effects on the planet, it's still going to be a really unique event.

It'll miss our planet by about six million kilometres, and it won't actually come super close to Earth until 2079, when it'll be about 1.8 million kilometres away.

Asteroid (52768) 1998 OR2 orbits the sun between Earth and Mars, and it won't fly by our planet again until 2031.

After that, the next two passes will happen in 2048 and 2062, and it'll be even further away those times.

The asteroid was first discovered on July 24, 1998, in Hawaii.

Comments are now closed.
Account Settings
Notifications
Favourites
Share Feedback
Log Out

Register this device to receive push notifications