It's finally here! After a long and sometimes difficult winter, the new season is officially setting in. While it may seem like we've been waiting a while for this, it's actually pretty early.  The first day of spring in Canada this year is the earliest that it's happened in more than 120 years.

For most of Canada in 2020, spring officially arrives late in the day on March 19 and that makes it the earliest vernal equinox in North America since 1896.

That's 124 years ago.

Usually, the equinox happens on March 20 or March 21 but not this year.

You can thank the Leap Year and Daylight Saving Time for the early arrival of the warmer season this year.

According to The Weather Network, the extra day in February pushed the rest of the calendar forward and shifted the equinox back by a day.

Also, the yearly time change used to happen in April before 2007, not March. So if we were changing the clocks next month instead of having already done it this month, the first day would've been March 20.

Spring arrives at 8:49 p.m. PT, 9:49 p.m. MT and CST, 10:49 p.m. CDT and 11:49 p.m. ET on March 19.

However, on the east coast, it comes in the early morning hours on March 20.

The new season is officially here at 12:49 a.m. AT and 1:19 a.m. NT.

The first day of spring is an equinox because the length of the day and the day are almost entirely equal and equinox comes from the Latin words for "equal night".

With the change in season comes more hours of sunlight during the day, earlier dawns and later sunsets.

After the equinox, the northern hemisphere tilts towards the sun so that's why we get more sunshine.

Even after the new season officially arrives, the weather will still be flip-flopping between warm and cold temperatures.

"Spring will tease us at times with periods of warm weather, but the warmth will lack consistency across most of Canada," said Chris Scott, The Weather Network's chief meteorologist, in a news release.

If you're already looking ahead to the next season, summer officially arrives in Canada on June 20.

Comments are now closed.
Account Settings
Notifications
Favourites
Share Feedback
Log Out

Register this device to receive push notifications