Facebook Messenger Launches "Unsend Feature" And It's The Best Thing Ever - Narcity

Facebook Messenger Launches "Unsend Feature" And It's The Best Thing Ever

Facebook Messengers new "unsend feature" that allows users to delete messages after they are already sent.

Facebook just dropped a sneaky new feature and it's honestly what we've all been waiting forFacebook Messenger has launched an "unsend feature" that allows users to delete messages after they've been sent. If you've ever sent a message and regretted it immediately, you can finally unsend it on Facebook using their new feature and continue your life in peace. 

READ ALSO: WTF, Instagram Now Notifies People When You Screenshot Their Pictures

How has it taken this long for this feature to be added to the messaging app? Regardless, we're just happy that being able to unsend messages on Facebook is now a thing. The social media company made the announcement today on February 5, on their website

READ ALSO: The Toronto Maple Leafs Are Suing Snoop Dogg For "Copying" Their Logo For His New Weed Company

"Have you ever accidentally sent a message to the wrong group of friends, mistyped something, or simply wanted to remove a message in a chat?," read Facebook's announcement on their website – and most people's answer to that question is probably a hard yes. 

"You’re not the only one!," said Facebook. "Starting today, we are launching a feature where you can easily remove your message on Messenger – whether it’s to one person or a group". 

Via Facebook

So, how does this new feature work? It's really simple. "Simply tap on the message you want to remove and select the option to 'Remove for Everyone'," explains Facebook

"The removed message will be replaced by text alerting everyone in the conversation the message was removed," says Facebook in their announcement. "You will have up to 10 minutes to remove a message after it is sent". 

Keep in mind that you have to remove your message before 10 minutes is up after you've sent it. Let's be real though, you probably instantly regret some messages you send, so a 10-minute window is much better than nothing.

We're happy to confirm that the new unsend feature has been proven and tested. We tried unsending a message a few minutes after it was sent, and it was successful! We even have screenshots to prove it.

To unsend the message, you click on it and press "remove". A pop-up menu will ask you to choose from two options: removing the message for everyone, or just for yourself. 

Via Screenshot

Once you click the "Remove for Everyone", Facebook will show you that the message has been deleted. 

Via Screenshot

The person on the receiving end will also see that you unsent a message, but they won't know what it was if they didn't open it before you unsent it. 

Via Screenshot

It's as easy as those steps and voila, your message has been unsent and all potential crises have been averted. The new feature is already in effect, but you may need to update your Messenger app on your phone to see the changes. The desktop version of Messenger should already show the unsend option starting today. 

To find out more about Facebook's new feature and read the full announcement, you can visit their website

Share on Facebook