2018 has been a really rough year for Facebook with the social media giant coming under fire for a variety of reasons, the biggest being that it allowed companies access to peoples personal Facebook data without consent.
And the scandals are continuing to roll now with the realization that a bug recently affected over 800,000 of the site's users and their ability to manage who can see their posts.
Specifically, it automatically allowed people who were blocked to become unblocked.
The good news is that this glitch didn’t last for too long, it was active from May 29 to June 5 of this year but it still affected close to a million people.
Facebook is currently in the process of sending out notifications and messages to the people who had someone removed from their blocked list.
"While someone who was unblocked could not see content shared with friends, they could have seen things posted to a wider audience. For example, pictures shared with friends of friends," said Facebooks chief privacy officer Erin Egan.
"We know that the ability to block someone is important — and we'd like to apologize and explain what happened," Egan said.
"This issue has now been fixed and everyone has been blocked again. People who were affected will get a notification on Facebook encouraging them to check their blocked list," Egan added.
So if Facebook sends you a notification asking you to look at your blocked list you should probably do it just to make sure that someone isn’t missing from it.
Source: The Inquirer