If you were convinced that, in 2018, you still had some privacy on the Internet, you can officially throw that idea out the window.

Instagram are the latest to be accused of violating the ‘privacy’ pact after their new update came with a creepy feature that tells everybody when you're "active". Instagram says it: "Allows accounts you follow and anyone you message to see when you were last active in Instagram apps."

If you go to the options selection of your profile you’ll see a new feature called ‘Show activity status’, which is automatically turned on.

Via JenniferBrowne/Narcity

Via JenniferBrowne/Narcity

The status shows up in Instagram direct messages, underneath the usernames of people you chatted with and in recently tagged in Stories. You'll also now see "Seen" and "Typing..." underneath messages.

It’s basically like the WhatsApp feature which lets people see the last time you were using the app and if you’ve read their message. The update has already been met with negativity on social media, with users calling the feature "stalkers paradise".

Creeped out? Or maybe you just want to ignore messages. Thankfully, there's a way you can turn it off.

Here's how to do it:

1. Tap the bottom-right profile icon

2. Go into the app's settings

3. Scroll down to "Show Activity Status" and slide the toggle to turn it off

The only downside to this is that once you turn your activity status off, you can no longer see anyone else's. A small price to pay for a little bit of privacy.

Comments are now closed.
Account Settings
Notifications
Favourites
Share Feedback
Log Out

Register this device to receive push notifications