Get any emails from Netflix lately? You may not want to open that.

Millions of Netflix users are currently being targeted by an updated version of a scam that has been doing the rounds since last year.

The new phishing scam - which looks like the real deal - falsely tells users that their account will been suspended unless their payment information is updated within 48 hours.

“We’re having some trouble with your current billing information,” the emails read. “We’ll try again, but in the meantime you may want to update your payment details.”

The scam is pretty convincing, with the Netflix logo displayed across the top of the email and the subject line reading 'Your suspension notification'. If you weren't convinced already, when users click on the link provided they're taken to a fraudulent login page that looks like streaming service's website.

In order to prevent their account from being suspended, users are encouraged to give their log-in details and credit card info.

But the big give-away that the whole things is a giant scam? The email is signed off by someone named Aleksander. No Netflix executives exist with that name, according to Mashable.

In its Help Centre, Netflix states they 'will never ask for payment information to be sent to [them] over email'. 

If you've already clicked on the link, Netflix suggests changing your Netflix password and informing your bank that your account may have been compromised.

Comments are now closed.
Account Settings
Notifications
Favourites
Share Feedback
Log Out

Register this device to receive push notifications