The world of technology has become a complicated one to navigate. From dozens of new advancements to new social media apps coming out of the woodwork constantly, it can be hard to keep track. With so many apps coming about, it's become a race for platforms to figure out how to keep their users on their sites longer. Which has resulted in a lot of changes customers don't like. 

READ ALSO: "There's A Reason Why You Keep Getting Ads For Things You’ve Talked About But Haven't Actually Searched Up Online"

While many aspects of social media can be annoying, there is one newer pet peeve a lot of Canadians have been experiencing. Especially on applications such as Instagram of Facebook. That feature being the multiple forms of notifications prompting users to "see what this person is doing." 

Via Pexels | Pixabay

For Instagram, you see it when someone hasn't posted in a while, while on Facebook the updates can get pretty odd. Notifications about your Facebook friends' online activity can be unbelievably random at times. Some users get notifications telling them that a person they haven't interacted with in years has just liked a post on their timeline. 

Naturally, users are confused as to why they are getting these notifications, and in Facebook's case, why they are even relevant considering they're more annoying than anything else. Especially considering that the notifications often regard people that users don't interact with a lot or in some cases, haven't interacted with in years

Via Unsplash | @timbennettcreative

Funny enough, the notifications have become such a hot topic that they now have a formal term to describe them, and they're known as "anti-notifications." "Anti-notifications"  outline alerts that concern the activity of people in your social media circle that don't actually concern you or your profile. So that could be regarding any of your friends or people you're following depending on the app you are on. 

The notifications seem useless to consumers, but for companies such as Facebook and Instagram, it's their latest ploy to try to pull you back onto their sites. The intention of "anti-notifications" is to draw your attention with a friend's activity so that you click on it and get redirected to the site. 

Via Unsplash | @thoughtcatalouge

Now the issue with the concept is that considering not all algorithms are perfect, especially in the beginning stages of introduction, people are getting these "anti-notifications" regarding people they don't care about. Such examples being maybe a distant friend from your hometown liking one of his or her friend's photos. Meaning they're actually doing the opposite of what the sites intended. Instead of enticing people to come back onto their platform, it's pushing people away by berating them with annoying and useless notifications. 

While it seems like there is no solution to escaping an algorithm, there is a way out. For Facebook, it's as simple as disabling the application's notifications from your phone's settings page. Though, if you go this route, you'll be getting rid of all notifications, even those related to you. Then again, that may not be the worst thing in the world.

Source: CBC Canada