If you're looking for something to do at night while staying inside, here's something for you. This northern lights live cam lets your watch the beautiful streaks across the sky over Canada from the comfort of your own home. You don't have to go outside or travel anywhere to see this natural wonder.

The northern lights, also known as the aurora borealis, are one of the seven natural wonders of the world and now you don't even have to leave the house to see them.

Polar Bears International and Explore.org have teamed up to bring this amazing sight to Canadians.

Broadcasted from Churchill, Manitoba, this live cam lets you watch the brilliant streaks as they dance across the night sky.

On the Polar Bears International site, scroll down to the live cam section and press play on the video to see the lights in all their glory.

The best viewing hours are generally between 10:00 p.m. and 4:00 a.m. ET, the darkest part of the evening.

That's 7:00 p.m. to 1:00 a.m. PT, 8:00 p.m. to 2:00 a.m. MT and CST, 9:00 p.m. to 3:00 a.m. CDT, 11:00 p.m. to 5:00 a.m. AT and 11:30 p.m. to 5:30 a.m. NT.

A clear sky also helps!

According to Canadian Geographic, Churchill is one of the best places to see the northern lights from and you have the best chances of seeing them each year between January and April.

It's situated within the Auroral Oval, a zone that circles the Earth's poles, which makes it possible to see the northern lights with the naked eye almost every day of the year. 

At this spot along the shores of Hudson Bay, you can see green, red and blue hues float in the dark sky with stars shining behind them.

Since Churchill is at such a high latitude, it's a northern lights destination and if you catch their nightly dance across the sky, you'll know why.

The view of this natural display from the live cam will make you feel like you're outside looking up at the sky when you're really lounging on the couch or lying in bed.

If you've always wanted to see the northern lights, now's a perfect time and you don't even have to put any effort in!

Start the Conversation
Account Settings
Notifications
Favourites
Log Out