The cities of the Greater Toronto Area just got a little bit more connected. Six new subway stations are coming to the Toronto area. And to anyone living or travelling near these construction sites, you probably knew it was coming. But what you probably didn't know is that all six stations will be opening in December and that each station is uniquely stunning in its own right. 

This past weekend, the TTC offered sneak-peek previews of three out of the six new stations, and people were amazed. The new additions to the TTC map are all along the Spadina line and are set to open on December 17th. And thanks to a new signalling system on the Spadina line, called the automatic train operation system, riders will not have to worry about any line traffic or delays whatsoever, according to the TTC.

The new additions include stops at York University Station, Pioneer Village, Highway 407 Station, and end with the Vaughan Metropolitan Station. The estimated time from the new Vaughan Station to Union Station is a mere 40 minutes, making this subway a dream come true for daily commuters. 

Guests who attended the sneak-peek preview of the new Pioneer Village, Highway 407, and Vaughan Stations were very impressed with the new designs brought by the TTC. 

The TTC has promised that there will be no delays in construction and that the six new stations will be open and running on December 17th. The transit agency anticipates the Toronto-York Spadina Subway Extension will bring at least 26 million new riders. 

Source: CBC