Netflix Canada Is Going To Start Checking If You're Using Someone Else's Account
If you're someone who does Netflix password sharing, you might see this new feature that checks if you're using someone else's account that is being tested in Canada.
A spokesperson for the streaming service told Narcity that "this test is designed to help ensure that people using Netflix accounts are authorized to do so."
O no. Netflix doing the purge?!? https://t.co/XXlHtfgfsy— sally, that girl (@sally, that girl) 1615324241.0
If you're part of the test, a pop-up will appear on the screen when you select your profile and you'll be asked to verify the account through a text or email sent to the owner of the account, according to CNN.
There's also a "verify later" option that you can select to continue streaming.
Narcity confirmed that this only applies to TVs, so if you are included in the test of the new feature, you won't see the pop-up when you use Netflix on your phone.