EN - News

Ontario Just Moved 5 More Regions Into The Red, Orange & Yellow Zones

The new restrictions will go into effect on Monday.

As of Monday, December 14, several more Ontario regions will be moving into the yellow, orange, and red restriction zones.

The Ontario government announced the news on Friday afternoon.

Editor's Choice: Here's The Risk Of Getting COVID-19 While Shopping According To A Toronto Expert

The public health units will stay in their new zones for a minimum of 28 days, or two COVID-19 incubation periods.

On Monday, the Middlesex-London Health Unit, Simcoe Muskoka District Health Unit and Wellington-Dufferin-Guelph Public Health will move into the red-control zone.

Eastern Ontario Health Unit will move into the orange-restrict zone.

Finally, Leeds, Grenville, and Lanark District Health Unit will move into the yellow-protect zone.

Two regions will also be entering the grey-lockdown zone on Monday: York and Windsor-Essex. All other regions will remain in their current zones.

This comes as the province extends all COVID-19 orders under the Reopening Ontario Act until January 20, 2021.

A Case Of The Omicron Variant Has Just Been Reported In The GTA

The person was in close contact with a traveller coming back from southern Africa.

Durham Region Health Department has announced that one person has tested positive for the COVID-19 Omicron variant on Thursday.

Health officials say the person was in "close contact" with another individual who had recently travelled back from "one of the identified countries in southern Africa," according to a press release.

Keep Reading Show less

There's a new way to find out if you've potentially been exposed to COVID-19, Toronto.

In a news release posted on December 2, City officials launched the COVID-19 Exposure Notifications page that will inform Torontonians of potential exposures that they could have come across in large settings.

Keep Reading Show less

The US Reported Its First Omicron Variant Case & Fauci Says It Was 'Just A Matter Of Time'

The infected person entered the U.S. before Omicron even had a name.

The Omicron variant has officially arrived in the United States and the White House is urging everyone who's eligible to get vaccinated ASAP.

The White House and the CDC confirmed the first U.S. case of COVID-19 caused by the new COVID-19 variant on Wednesday, one week after public health experts warned that it was becoming a problem in South Africa.

Keep Reading Show less

You know how to say "Delta" if you've flown with a certain airline, visited a certain town in B.C. or just been paying attention to COVID-19 virus variants as a human being on this Earth.

But have you figured out how to pronounce "Omicron" yet? Because some people — including the president of the United States — are still playing catchup with this not-so-popular letter from the Greek alphabet.

Keep Reading Show less