Starting Monday, more Ontario regions will be moving into the orange and yellow zones of the Ontario COVID-19 restriction system.

The provincial government announced the regional changes in a press release on Friday afternoon.

In the release, Health Minister Christine Elliot said that the following public health regions are seeing "key public health indicators continue to go in the wrong direction."

Editor's Choice: A New Report Claims That Toronto Is Poised To Be One Of The Next Global Super-Cities

By [...] moving these regions to a higher level in the framework, we are helping them to reduce transmission in the community and avoid broader closures. Christine Elliot

As of Monday, December 7, Middlesex-London Health Unit and Thunder Bay District Health Unit will move into the orange-restrict zone.

In addition, Haliburton, Kawartha, Pine Ridge District Health Unit will move into the yellow-protect zone.

There are currently six regions in the red-control zone including York Region. Toronto and Peel will remain in grey-lockdown.

Six regions will remain in the green-prevent zone after Monday's changes.

To see a full overview of regional classifications and restrictions, visit Ontario's COVID-19 Response Framework.