Sunshine State residents will now have to self-isolate when they head up north. New York has imposed a quarantine on Florida residents. The states of New Jersey and Connecticut also announced advisories for travelers coming from the state.

"It's only for the simple reason that we worked very hard to lower the infection rate and we want to keep it down," New York Governor Andrew Cuomo said when announcing the quarantine. "People could bring the infection with them."

Gov. Cuomo has been hinting at issuing a quarantine for Florida for the past week, citing a record increase in COVID-19 cases within the state.

In March, Gov. Ron DeSantis mandated New Yorkers to quarantine for 14 days. The decision was in response to the novel coronavirus cases exploding in the state at the time.

New Jersey and Connecticut partnered with the Empire State to craft the order, which calls for quarantine for any state with a positivity rate of 10% or higher. Joining Florida in the quarantine will be Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, North Carolina, South Carolina, Washington, Texas, and Utah.

All residents who come from these states will be required to self-quarantine for two weeks upon arrival.

Florida is currently on a sobering record-streak of daily coronavirus cases. On Wednesday, the state shattered a daily record, recording 5,508 news cases in just one day.

The record spike in cases has health experts worried that the southern state could become the new epicenter for COVID-19. The increase has spurred Gov. Cuomo to consider issuing a quarantine for Floridians.

"If you went to Florida, you had to quarantine for two weeks because they were afraid that New Yorkers were bringing the virus to their state," Cuomo said earlier this week. "Fast forward a 100 days, now we're afraid they're bringing the virus to our state."

Asked about the then-potential quarantine order from New York, DeSantis quipped that if Cuomo did, to not "quarantine Floridians in nursing homes in New York."

*This piece has been updated.