Canada Is Introducing New Travel Restrictions Because Of A Recently Discovered COVID-19 Variant

There are new rules for travellers now that the Omicron variant has been found in Africa.

Trending Staff Writer
Canada Is Introducing New Travel Restrictions Because Of A Recently Discovered COVID-19 Variant

There has been a major update to Canada's travel restrictions that bans entry to some foreign nationals, mandates quarantine for travellers and requires testing.

On November 26, Transport Minister Omar Alghabra announced the new restrictions and said they are being introduced because a "new, faster-spreading variant of concern has been detected in southern Africa."

The federal government is banning the entry of foreign nationals into Canada that have travelled through seven countries in southern Africa in the last 14 days. The countries are South Africa, Mozambique, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Lesotho and Eswatini.

"For now, it is just these seven countries but we will constantly reevaluate and assess the list of those countries," Alghabra said.

People who arrived in Canada from the seven countries in the last 14 days are being asked to quarantine right now and go get tested. They are also being told to stay in isolation until they get a negative test result.

Travellers flying indirectly from the southern African countries will need a negative pre-departure test before coming to Canada that's taken in the last transit country before their arrival in Canada.

Canadians and permanent residents who have travelled to any of the seven countries within 14 days must have proof of a negative COVID-19 molecular test taken within 72 hours of their departure to Canada.

Upon entry, those people will have to wait in an approved hotel until the result of their day one test comes in and if it's negative, they will then be required to quarantine at home until their day eight test comes back negative.

Then on November 30, the federal government announced more travel measures related to the Omicron variant.

Three countries — Nigeria, Malawi and Egypt — were added to the list of affected nations which now brings the total to 10.

Also, there are additional restrictions that require testing and quarantine for even more travellers regardless of their vaccination status and the country they're travelling from.

This comes into effect immediately and will stay in place until January 31, 2022.

Global Affairs Canada is also issuing a travel advisory asking all Canadians not to travel to southern Africa for the time being.

University Of Toronto Is Waiting Until Next Month To Gradually Return To In-Person Classes

The university will increase in-person learning and activities on February 7.

The University of Toronto is preparing to return to in-person learning, and some students will be back on campus in a few weeks.

The university announced in a press release on January 19 that it will be increasing in-person learning and activities starting February 7.

Keep Reading Show less

England Will Drop Almost All COVID Restrictions & They Suspect Omicron Has 'Peaked'

"We will trust the judgement of the British people," the PM said.

England will lift almost all of its COVID-19 restrictions starting next week, with the goal of getting back to normal life as soon as possible.

Prime Minister Boris Johnson announced on Wednesday that he's going to remove England's "Plan B" COVID-19 rules, which include measures like mask wearing, social distancing and showing proof of vaccination.

Keep Reading Show less

Each household in the U.S. can now order COVID-19 rapid tests for free from the government, and all you have to do is visit a website.

The White House says it's handing out half a billion rapid tests as part of its COVID-19 strategy, and it hopes the tests will help tackle a surge in cases caused by the highly contagious Omicron variant.

Keep Reading Show less

If you're looking to book your COVID-19 vaccine appointment but haven't lucked out in finding a timeslot yet, Toronto just opened up thousands of bookings.

In a press release posted on January 19, the City of Toronto announced it has almost 25,000 appointments open and ready for booking at city-run clinics until February 19. This includes 3,874 appointments for this Sunday, January 23, and Monday, January 24.

Keep Reading Show less