Tons of Canadians can expect to see their screens light up on Wednesday, May 5, as part of ongoing tests of the National Public Alerting System.

The tests will take place across Canada, except in Ontario, Quebec, Nova Scotia, and Nunavut, according to the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC).

Editor's Choice: Ontarians Are Freaking Out About The Long Wait To Book A Vaccine Appointment Online

The alert will come at a designated time for each participating province. Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, Northwest Territories, Yukon, and Saskatchewan will receive the alert at 1:55 p.m in their respective time zones.

In New Brunswick and Newfoundland, the alert will come at 10:55 a.m, and Prince Edward Island will get its alert at 12:55 p.m.

When used for their intended purpose, these alerts, facilitated by AlertReady, are meant to inform Canadians of national emergencies, Amber Alerts, civil disruptions, and other urgent information through electronic devices.

The test run is intended to "improve the system's performance and reliability to ensure it operates as intended in the event of a life-threatening situation," says the CRTC.