Travel will just have to wait. Greece reopening is happening this month and tourists are going to be allowed in once again. However, Canadians didn't make the list of those who can visit the Mediterranean country.

Greece is officially welcoming tourists again on June 15 but there are some rules about just who can come in and who can't when flights start landing in Athens and Thessaloniki.

The country's tourism ministry released a list of countries that the borders will be open for.

Canada isn't included, though.

Countries from all over the world, not just European ones, made the cut like Australia, China, Israel, Japan, New Zealand and South Korea.

Where tourists are allowed to travel from is based on the epidemiological profile of each nation.

When they enter Greece, travellers from countries with elevated rates of infection will have to take a COVID-19 test and quarantine even if it comes back negative.

Even though Canadians won't be let in now, there still might be some hope left.

Greece is planning on expanding the list of countries that are cleared for entry starting on July 1.

Depending on how the COVID-19 pandemic progresses here, Canada could make the next cut.

From June 15 to June 30, travellers from more affected countries will get a COVID-19 test at random upon arrival.

They'll also be required to stay at a designated hotel.

If the test comes back negative, they'll have to quarantine for seven days.

If it comes back positive, they'll have to do a 14-day quarantine.

Greece first announced the reopening to tourists back on May 20 and the country's prime minister said its low infection rates are a "passport of safety, credibility and health" to visitors.

Air Canada has been planning to resume flights to the country this month as part of its summer schedule.

Service is supposed to start back up again on the Toronto-Athens and Montreal-Athens routes.

However, this list of countries that people can travel from might change that.

Canada currently has a global travel advisory in place until further notice that warns against all non-essential international trips.