Search on Narcity

More Ontario Regions Are Officially Entering The Red & Orange Zones On Monday

Tighter restrictions are coming to five Ontario regions.

Come Monday, new regions will enter the red and orange levels of Ontario's COVID-19 restriction zones.

The provincial government posted a release on Friday that details the changes.

Minister of Health Christine Elliott assured Ontarians that the changes are necessary.

Editor's Choice: Adamson BBQ Is Now Blocked Off & Anyone Who Trespasses Will Get Charged

By moving these 5 regions to a new level in the framework, we can ensure that the necessary [...] measures are in place to stop the spread of the virus. Christine Elliott

As of Monday, Windsor-Essex County Health Unit will move into the red control zone, and Haldimand-Norfolk Health Unit will move into the orange restrict zone.

Three new regions will move into the yellow protect zone: Hastings Prince Edward Public Health, Lambton Public Health, and Northwestern Health Unit.

Last week, Toronto and Peel were moved into the grey lockdown zone for a minimum of 28 days.

Durham Region, the Region of Waterloo, the City of Hamilton, and York Region are also currently in the red zone.

After Monday's changes, there will be a total of seven regions remaining in the green zone.

Recommended For You