Well, this is ironic. Daiya ice cream that's supposed to be dairy-free is being recalled because it actually has milk in it. This recall is for products sold in Alberta and B.C.
Daiya Classic Vanilla Creme Non-Dairy Frozen Dessert is being taken off store shelves in the two western provinces because it has milk in it that isn't declared on the label.
People who have an allergy to milk are being warned to not eat this ice cream because of that.
You can check to see if you have this recalled product by just looking at the container.
It's the 473-millilitre pint with the UPC 8 71459 00984 1.
On the bottom of the container, the recalled products have the codes 600820 and BB 08 JA 2021 on it.
If you have it in your home, you should throw it out or return it to the store where you bought it.
The Canadian Food Inspection Agency is investigating this and other Daiya products could be recalled.
Also, the agency is verifying that all of the affected Classic Vanilla Creme Non-Dairy Frozen Dessert pints are being removed from the marketplace.
The Classic Vanilla Creme pint from Daiya is made from coconut creme that's whipped into the texture of regular ice cream.
It's supposed to have no dairy in it and also be free of allergens like gluten, soy, eggs, peanuts, fish and shellfish.
As of now, there have been no reports of allergic reactions to this product.
If other high-risk products from Daiya are recalled, an updated food recall warning will be put out to notify everyone.
Health Canada is always sharing updates about recalled products.
In June, a bunch of hand sanitizers were actually recalled because they contained industrial-grade ethanol that hasn't been approved to be used in those products in Canada.