Doug Ford has announced sweeping changes to Ontario's COVID-19 response, starting by moving many regions into new colour zones. 

“If we don't change course in a big way, Ontario is on track for 6,500 new cases a day,” said Ford.

"As premier, I can't accept that, and I won't accept that."

Editor's Choice: Ford Says He's Scrapping 14-Day Quarantine For Travellers With Or Without Trudeau

The situation has changed dramatically.

Premier Doug Ford

As of Monday, November 16, the following public health units are moving to the orange restrict zone: Brant County, Durham Region, Eastern Ontario, Niagara Region, Ottawa, Waterloo, and Wellington Dufferin.

Several regions are also moving into the red zone, including Hamilton, Halton, and York. Toronto will move into the red zone on Saturday. Peel was already in it.*

In red zones, Christine Elliott urges residents only to leave home for essential reasons.

The following public health units are also moving into the yellow zone: Haldimand Norfolk, Middlesex London, Sudbury, Simcoe Muskoka, Southwestern Public Health and Windsor-Essex.

Ford says this could be the beginning of more adjustments to come.

Comments are now closed.
Account Settings
Share Feedback
Log Out

Register this device to receive push notifications