Search on Narcity

Trudeau Just Announced That International Flights Can Now Only Land At 4 Canadian Airports

Flights from the US and Mexico will no longer be exempt.
International Travel: Out Of Country Flights Can Now Only Land At 4 Canadian Airports

On Friday, January 29, Justin Trudeau made an announcement that will significantly impact international travel to and from Canada. 

He explained that international flights from the United States, Mexico, Central America, the Caribbean, and South America* will only be landing at select Canadian airports as of next week. 

Editor's Choice: Canadian Airlines Are Officially Suspending All Flights To Sunny Destinations For Months

4 Airports will accept international arrivals. 

"Starting next week, all international passenger flights must land only at the following four airports: Vancouver, Calgary, Toronto and Montreal," said Trudeau. 

Trudeau had initially restricted international flights to those four airports back in March 2020, but flights from the U.S., Mexico, and the Caribbean were previously exempt and continued to fly into other Canadian airports.* These new restrictions have been imposed on top of a significant wave of flight cancellations

The prime minister has also announced that Canadian air carriers will be suspending flights to "sun destinations" until April 30, 2021. 

This measure will begin on Sunday. 

Furthermore, incoming international travellers will now be required to quarantine in hotels while they await their COVID-19 test results. 

"We all need to do our part to keep ourselves, our loved ones, and our neighbours safe," said Justin Trudeau.

*This article has been updated.

Recommended For You