Ontarians, it's time. The provincial government has just announced that multiple cities in the GTA will be allowed to enter stage three in Ontario this Friday. However, Toronto won't be included. 

In a press conference on Monday, Doug Ford announced that Durham, Halton, Hamilton, Niagara, Haldiman-Norfolk, Lambton and York regions will be in stage three just in time for the weekend. 

However, if you live in Toronto, Peel or Windsor, you'll have to wait a little longer. 

"We're all in this together. And for the other regions who enter stage two later in the process, please be patient, we'll get there very shortly," Ford stated. 

"We've been working with Mayor Tory and mayors in Peel and Windsor regions [...] to assess the situation and find a way forward." 

Starting this Friday, the selected GTA regions will be able to open their doors to dine-in restaurants, bars, movie theatres, gyms and more. 

Outdoor gatherings will also be expanded to 100 people, while indoor spaces can host up to 50. 

Yet, these venues will be forced to follow strict social distancing guidelines before welcoming any guests.

The Ontario government also warns residents that they will still need to wear masks when needed and should continue to practice social distancing with anyone outside of their bubble. 

As more regions continue to move forward with the province's reopening plan, Toronto's Mayor John Tory is urging that the 6ix follow stricter guidelines.

His recommendations include earlier closing times in bars and restaurants. 

The move comes after multiple other regions throughout Ontario entered stage three last week. 

Start the Conversation
Account Settings
Log Out