Calling all globetrotters! Over the last couple of months, many Canadians have had their travel plans cancelled, disrupted or put on hold. However, a dreamy trip could still be on the horizon. Travel inside Canada is possible right now, and here’s exactly what you need to know about where you can go.

Due to concerns about COVID-19, many Canadians are considering vacationing at home this summer and taking the opportunity to explore another region or province.

That said, as local borders are controlled on a provincial level, the rules about where you can and can’t travel vary, depending on where you’re from and where you’re going.

While some provinces are welcoming Canadian travellers from other areas, others are keeping their borders tightly closed for the time being.

It’s also worth remembering that COVID-19 rules and regulations vary on a provincial level, so while you may be able to dine out and visit amusement parks in some places, this may not be the case in others.

So, whether you’ve always dreamed of exploring Jasper and Banff National Parks, would like to visit Trudeau at Parliament Hill, or simply would like to get out of town, here’s exactly what you need to know about visiting each province and territory right now.


Right now, the Sunshine Province is open to all Canadian travellers, and domestic guests are not required to quarantine upon arrival. 

Responsible travel within the province is permitted by the local government, including to campgrounds as well as national and provincial parks. That said, visitors are expected to follow local rules, such as maintaining physical distancing, at all times.

Alberta is advising locals to avoid non-essential travel outside of the region for now, although this is a recommendation rather than a ban.

British Columbia

Like Alberta, B.C. is currently accepting other Canadian visitors, with no quarantine restrictions.

The B.C. provincial government asks that all travellers “follow the same travel guidelines as everyone else in B.C.,” and are respectful of all COVID-19-related guidelines.

Popular tourist areas, like Whistler, have also reopened to tourists, but are asking that visitors come prepared with face masks and make reservations in advance wherever possible.


Travel restrictions in Manitoba are a little bit more complicated than elsewhere.

As of June 26, all visitors to the province must self-isolate for 14 days, regardless of their origin point. That said, there are some exceptions.

According to the local government, residents of western Canada or northwestern Ontario are allowed to enter without quarantine, provided they have not travelled to another country or province in the 14 days prior. They also must not be displaying any symptoms of COVID-19. 

Western Canada refers to British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Yukon, Northwest Territories and Nunavut.

Per the order, northwestern Ontario refers to the portion of Ontario that is located west of Terrace Bay.

New Brunswick

Earlier this month, Canada’s Atlantic provinces started a “travel bubble,” allowing unrestricted travel between the four easternmost regions. 

This means that residents of P.E.I., New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador and Nova Scotia can travel to the other regions in the bubble, without having to quarantine at all.

Canadians outside of these regions are not allowed to visit New Brunswick at all right now, unless they meet certain criteria, such as owning a cottage in the area.


Newfoundland and Labrador

Like New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador is only welcoming visitors from other Atlantic provinces.

Canadians attempting to engage in non-essential travel from other parts of Canada will be turned away at the border.


Nova Scotia

While Nova Scotia is part of the Atlantic travel bubble, there’s not a strict ban in place for travellers from other parts of Canada.

Those from outside the four easternmost provinces are allowed to travel to Nova Scotia, but they will be required to self-isolate for 14 days.

Every adult planning a visit must also complete a self-declaration form before travelling, proof of which will be required upon arrival.


Visitors from across Canada are now allowed to enter Ontario without having to quarantine, provided they have no COVID-19 symptoms.

That said, it’s worth noting that mandatory mask rules are in place in many of the province’s cities and public spaces, so you’ll need to come prepared.

Prince Edward Island

P.E.I. has pretty strict rules for those outside of the Atlantic travel bubble right now.

For non-Atlantic residents, non-essential travel in P.E.I. is prohibited, and there are officials stationed at the border to prevent any unauthorized movement.

According to Premier Dennis King, this rule is unlikely to change any time soon.


Currently, there are no isolation measures in place for Canadians wanting to visit Quebec from other provinces. 

While visitors won’t be turned away, the region is still advising against any non-essential travel, both to and from Quebec.

There is a mandatory mask rule in place, so make sure to bring one along.


If you’ve ever dreamed of exploring Saskatchewan, there’s good news ahead. 

The province is allowing non-essential travel right now, and those visiting from Canada won’t be required to quarantine if they’re not showing COVID-19 symptoms.

Travellers are asked to follow all local health guidelines during their trip and to continue to self-monitor for any concerning symptoms.

Northwest Territories, Nunavut & Yukon

Right now, leisure travel is not permitted within the Northwest Territories. Visitors from Yukon are the exception, and they're able to travel within the NWT without self-isolating.

While vacationers from most of Canada are not permitted to visit Nunavut, residents of Churchill in Manitoba are.

In Yukon, visitors from British Columbia, the Northwest Territories and Nunavut are permitted to vacation without self-isolating. Travellers from elsewhere can visit, as long as they quarantine for two weeks first.

Comments are now closed.
Account Settings
Share Feedback
Log Out

Register this device to receive push notifications