EN - News

Here's Which Provinces & Territories Have Access To Canada's Vaccine Passport System

And here's what to do if you live in a province that doesn't. ➡️

Here's Which Provinces & Territories Have Access To Canada's Vaccine Passport System

If you're travelling outside of the country anytime soon, it might be worth checking if you live in a province with access to Canada's international vaccine passport.

Canada announced the new standardized system on Thursday, October 21, but not every province is part of things just yet — here's how to check if you're in one that is.

If you live in Saskatchewan, Ontario, Quebec, Nova Scotia, Newfoundland, Northwest Territories, Yukon and Nunavut, you now automatically have access to the standardized vaccine passport.

Even though these provinces and territories have separate vaccine passports, each one will have the authorized Government of Canada logo — flag and all — to verify that it's Canadian issued and can be accepted internationally.

The rest of the country — B.C., Alberta, Manitoba, P.E.I. and New Brunswick — is expected to issue the standardized proof of vaccination before the end of November, according to government officials.

But officials also said that Canadians in those five provinces will be able to use their own certificates for now as long as they include their name, date of birth, type of vaccine doses and the date they received their doses.

Speaking about the changes on October 21, Justin Trudeau said he's "very confident" other countries will accept the new standardized version of the vaccine passports.

Health Canada has a robust website with all the latest information on COVID-19 vaccines and can answer any questions you may have.

Let’s be honest; we’ve all thought about dropping everything and going on a world tour, but we can never justify it because who’s going to pay for it?

Insuranks, that’s who’s going to pay for it. The American insurance company is offering a once-in-a-lifetime job opportunity that will take the lucky person who scores the gig through all seven continents for 12 months, as outlined in the job posting.

Keep Reading Show less

Canada's Vaccine Advisory Committee Says Booster Doses Can Now Be Offered To Everyone Over 18

This comes after the federal government asked for updated guidance because of the Omicron variant.

The National Advisory Committee on Immunization has officially updated guidance on the use of COVID-19 booster doses in Canada to include everyone over the age of 18 years old.

On December 3, the committee released new recommendations on who should and can be offered another dose in Canada based on current scientific evidence and expert opinion.

Keep Reading Show less

The National Advisory Committee on Immunization has recommended a booster dose of COVID-19 for people over the age of 50.

In October, B.C. said people would start receiving their COVID-19 booster dose appointments but on December 3, NACI's latest guidance is that more people should get their booster dose as protection against the Omicron variant.

Keep Reading Show less

7 Things You Need To Know About Canada's Travel Rules If You're Confused By All The Changes

Travel between Canada and the U.S. just changed, too. 👇✈️

If you’re feeling a little lost and confused when it comes to Canada’s latest travel restrictions, you’re not the only one.

Over the last couple of months, the rules have changed a lot and thanks to the new Omicron variant of COVID-19, the requirements for international travel have been updated yet again.

Keep Reading Show less