Sign in
EN - News

Canada’s New Travel Rules Are Apparently Causing Serious Confusion At The Border

Officials are turning away travellers who do not qualify to enter the country.👇

An update to Canada's travel restrictions has caused confusion at the border this week, according to the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA).

Officials told CTV News that the number of incoming visitors to Canada has been increasing since travel measures began easing for eligible Canadians, but many people have been turned away because they misunderstood the new rules.

"It's a question, I think, of folks not understanding the rules," an official from the CBSA explained.

Incoming traffic into Canada has increased by approximately 25% since some rules were waived for eligible travellers on Monday, although roughly half of these people had to be turned away.

The CBSA says that the majority of those rejected at the border had misunderstood the updated regulations and had either: failed to receive a full course of an approved COVID-19 vaccine, not waited 14 days after their last vaccine dose or received a vaccine not approved by Health Canada.

"The big thing for folks to understand is what qualifies as a fully exempted traveller under Canada's definition," officials added.

So who can actually enter Canada right now?

Canadian citizens and permanent residents who've received the full course of a Health Canada-approved COVID-19 vaccine are eligible to skip some travel measures.

They must have received the full course of one of the following vaccines: Pfizer-BioNtech, Moderna, AstraZeneca/COVISHIELD and Janssen (Johnson & Johnson).

Additionally, the last dose must have been received at least 14 days prior to entering the country.

All travellers must submit their details and a backup quarantine plan via the ArriveCAN app. Proof of vaccination must also be provided.

Fully vaccinated travellers must also continue to adhere to the rest of Canada's travel requirements, including pre-arrival and post-arrival testing.

What about international travellers?

Canada's borders remain closed to all non-essential travellers from abroad, including the United States.

Speaking on July 8, Prime Minister Justin Trudeau announced that it will be "quite a while" before unvaccinated tourists are given the go-ahead to enter Canada.

A ban on all discretionary international travel into Canada is set to expire on July 21, although this could be extended once again.

Canada's Airports Want You To Remember These 5 Things Before You Fly This Fall

Some airports look pretty different now that international travellers are back!👇

Canada's travel rules have changed a lot over the past year and there are several things the country's major airports want you to know before you take to the skies once again.

In addition to longer wait times, capacity limits and COVID-19 public health requirements, travellers should expect delays both on and off the plane.

Keep Reading Show less

Canada's Travel Restrictions Got A Major Update Today & Here's What You Should Know

Fully vaxxed travellers from abroad can return to Canada for non-essential reasons. ✈️

Perhaps the biggest update to Canada's travel restrictions so far has come into effect as of Tuesday, September 7.

Fully vaccinated travellers from across the world (with just a few exceptions) will be welcomed back into the country for non-essential purposes, including tourism, sightseeing and visiting friends and family.

Keep Reading Show less

Starting on September 7, Canada will open its border to fully vaccinated residents from all over the world for discretionary purposes.

However, there are some things that Toronto Pearson Airport wants you to know before these new changes kick in.

Keep Reading Show less

The United States is urging American citizens to reconsider travelling to Canada, as it says there are "high levels of COVID-19" in the country.

On August 30, the U.S. State Department issued an updated travel advisory for Canada, upgrading the risk assessment from Level 2 to Level 3. This puts Canada in the same alert level category as countries like the Dominican Republic, Germany, Italy and Jamaica, among others.

Keep Reading Show less