Canadians Will Be Treated To 3 Epic Eclipses This Year & The Moon Will Turn Red Twice

Eyes to the skies!
Trending Senior Staff Writer
Eclipses In 2021: Canada Will Get Treated To 3 & The Moon Will Turn Red

Of the four lunar and solar eclipses in 2021, Canada will be treated to three of them and the moon will actually turn red twice!

Here's a rundown of those celestial events that you can look forward to.

Editor's Choice:Here's How Justin Trudeau's Hair Has Changed Throughout The Pandemic (PHOTOS)

Total lunar eclipse in May

Most of Canada will be able to see the total lunar eclipse on May 26 but the best views will be in the west because that's where the full moon will turn red.

That red hue happens because of how sunlight goes through Earth's atmosphere.

It's also a supermoon so that's a double celestial treat!

This eclipse lasts for just over five hours but the full eclipse is only 14 minutes long.

It starts at about 4:46 a.m. ET or 1:46 a.m. PT and the moon enters the inner part of Earth's shadow at 5:45 a.m. ET or 2:45 a.m. PT which is when it will start to turn red.

For eastern parts of Canada, the eclipse will either be partially visible or not visible at all.

You can look at this map to see if you'll be able to view this event.

Annual solar eclipse in June

The annual solar eclipse this year is on June 10.

The total eclipse will only be visible in parts of Ontario, Quebec and Nunavut and the sun will be just a ring around the moon.

It will be partially visible in all areas of Manitoba, Northwest Territories, Ontario, Nunavut, Quebec, New Brunswick, P.E.I., Nova Scotia and Newfoundland.

Some parts of B.C., Alberta, Saskatchewan and Yukon will get partial visibility.

Since the eclipse starts at one location and then ends at another, the timing varies.

You can search for where you live on this map to check out how much of the eclipse you'll be able to see and what time it will happen.

Remember, it's only safe to view this eclipse with eye protection like eclipse glasses or a solar filter.

Partial lunar eclipse in November

This lunar eclipse starts on November 19 for most of the country and on November 18 for the west coast.

It will last for more than six hours.

The moon enters the outer part of Earth's shadow at 1:00 a.m. ET on November 19 or 10:00 p.m. PT on November 18 and then enters the inner shadow at 2:18 a.m. ET or 11:18 p.m. PT.

This map will tell you what time all the phases are happening where you live.

All of Canada will be able to see the moon turn red during this celestial event.

More from Narcity

Comments 💬

Our comment section is a place to promote self-expression, freedom of speech and positivity. We encourage discussion and debate, but our pages must remain a safe space where everyone feels comfortable and the environment is respectful.

In order to make this possible, we monitor comments to keep spam, hate speech, violence, and vulgarity off our pages. Comments are moderated according to our Community Guidelines.

Please note that Narcity Media does not endorse the opinions expressed in the comment section of an article. Narcity Media has the right to remove comments, ban or suspend any user without notice, or close a story’s comment section at any time.

First and last names will appear with each comment and the use of pseudonyms is prohibited. By commenting, you acknowledge that Narcity Media has the right to use & distribute your content across our properties.

Loading...